Odishatv Bureau


Cuttack: The Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) today formed a five-member internal managing committee to manage its activities.

A decision to this effect was taken at an emergency meeting of the OCA at its office in Barabati Stadium premises here in the presence of former OCA secretary Asirbad Behera, president Ranjib Biswal and all 67 former members of the OCA Council.

The meeting unanimously decided to form a five-member committee to look after the daily activity of the OCA.

The committee would take up all responsibilities and activities of the OCA till the next election of the OCA Council or after the implementation of the Lodha Committee recommendations.

The committee to be led by Dhiren Palai, joint secretary of Bhadrak District Cricket Association, as its chairman, will have Dulal Chandra Pradhan, secretary of Sambalpur District Cricket Association, Rabi Narayan Pratihari of Puri Cricket Association, Janardan Das of Keonjhar District Cricket Association and Saraoj Sahu of Nuapada District Cricket Association as other members.

The committee will manage the financial activities of OCA and organise upcoming tournaments.

“We will take up the activities of OCA in consultation with the former office-bearers. We will ensure that the upcoming domestic tournaments are organised smoothly. Besides, we will ensure that all the OCA staff would receive their monthly salary. The committee will tentatively work for a maximum one and half month,” Palai said.

“We will organise a number of upcoming tournaments in consultation with the former OCA office-bearers,” said Dulal Pradhan.

Notably, OCA secretary Asirbad Behera and president Ranjib Biswal and other office-bearers of the Association had stepped down from their posts following the directive of the Supreme Court as per the Lodha Committee recommendations.

However, with their exit, problem arose to handle the day-to-day activities of OCA.

Sources, however, said through the interim managing committee will look after all the activities of OCA, it will be remote controlled by Asirbad Behera as a majority of members of the committee are his supporters.