Odisha thrashes Assam in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Bhubaneswar/Bengaluru: Riding on Skipper Govinda Poddar and wicket-keeper Rajesh Dhuper’ s splendid batting performances, Odisha trounced  Assam in its third Group A game of Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day cricket tournament in Bengaluru. Both batsmen scored half centuries and ensured Odisha secured four crucial points from this game.

Chasing a total of 137 runs, Odisha lost the wicket of left-hander Anurag Sarangi (13) early 35 after which Govinda Poddar and Rajesh Dhuper added 102 runs for the unbeaten second wicket partnership to see Odisha through.

Dhuper’s knock of 70* (83-balls) included nine fours and one six while Poddar struck six boundaries and one six for his unbeaten 50.

For Assam, Pritam Das picked up the only wicket of Anurag Sarangi.

Earlier in the day, Odisha pacers Suryakanta Pradhan and Deepak Behera proved their captain’s decision to bowl first right by picking up three early wickets. A 46-run partnership between Gokul Sharma (22) and Amit Sinha (28) for forth wicket Assam to recover from the early blow.

Romario Sharma then went on to score 49 runs before getting run-out. However, he ensured Assam cross the triple-figure mark. Assam was bowled out for 136 in 46.1 overs.

For Odisha, Suryakanta Pradhan and Abhishek Raut scalped two wickets each while Deepak Behera, Prayas Singh Thakur, Jayanta Behera and Govinda Poddar claimed one apiece.

Odisha with eight points will now meet the home team Karnataka in its next game on Tuesday at Alur.