• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Cuttack: Odisha enjoyed a slight advantage in their Ranji Trophy Group C match against Jammu and Kashmir by taking an overall lead of 173 runs on the second day here on Monday.

Fourteen wickets fell on the second day after the bowlers had shone by picking up 13 scalps on day one.

The home side, who was sent in to bat by J&K on Sunday, were bowled out for 161 in their first knock.

The Odisha bowlers, led by right-arm medium-pacers Basant Mohanty (4 for 42) and Debabrata Pradhan (3/12), sent the opposition batsmen packing for 124 in 45 overs to ensure a first innings lead of 37 runs.

However, the Odisha batsmen did not fare too well in the second innings as none of them could build on the starts they got. Odisha were 136 for 7 in their second innings from 62 overs at the draw of stumps.

The openers -- Shantanu Mishra (26) and AR Sarangi (26) -- put on 52 for the first wicket before J&K captain Parvez Rasool dismissed the latter.

The visiting team bowlers struck at regular intervals to claw their way back into the match. The Odisha batsmen, on the other hand, will look to increase the lead when play resume on the third day on Tuesday.

In Raipur, Chhattisgarh trounced Tripura by an innings and 28 runs to notch up seven points.

Brief Scores:

Odisha 161 all out in 64.3 overs (Shubhranshu Senapati 42; Aquib Nabi 5/39) and 136 for 7 in 62 overs (Shantanu Mishra 26, Anurag Sarangi 26; Auqib Nabi 2/40) vs J&K 124 all out in 45 overs (Shubham Khajuria 40; Basant Mohanty 4/42).

At Ranchi: Uttarakhand 227 all out in 53.2 overs (Saurabh Rawat 66, Tanmay Srivastava 49; Ajay Yadav 6/55, Ashish Kumar 4/52) and 4 for no loss vs Jharkhand 298 all out in 87 overs (Kumar Deobrat 85, K Suraj 57; Mayank Mishra 5/100).

At Guwahati: Maharashtra 175 all out in 43.4 overs (Ankit Bawane 75, SS Bachhav 40; Arup Das 4/66, Ranjeet Mali 4/55) and 106 for 2 in 36 overs (JS Pande 52 batting) vs Assam 244 all out in 78.1 overs (Rishav Das 94; SS Bachhav 4/44).

At Raipur: Tripura 53 for 9 in 18.1 overs (Pankaj Rao 5/11, Veer Pratap Singh 3/53) and 144 all out in 42 overs lost to Chhattisgarh 225 all out in 50 overs (Shashank Singh 73, Veer Pratap Singh 40; Abhijit Sarkar 3/57, Ajoy Sarkar 3/62) by an innings and 28 runs.

Other Stories