Odishatv Bureau

It takes a lot of effort to win the World Cup just once, but it takes a team effort and years of arduous work and experience to win it twice or more.

5. France (2)

France is entering this World Cup as defending champions. The French team won the World Cup in Russia in 2018 with exceptional young players such as Kylian Mbappe and world-class players such as Paul Pogba. France won its second title by defeating Croatia in the final. They won the first title in 1998 when the country hosted the most significant sporting event of its history.

4. Argentina (2)

Argentina has two World Cup titles to its credit. The South Americans won the title for the first time in the year 1978. They were also the hosts and with the support of their home crowd, they prevailed in the end. They won the match 3-1 over the Netherlands in the finals. Their second title came in 1986. The World Cup was held in Mexico that year when Argentina defeated West Germany in the grand finals 3-2. 

3. Italy (4)

Italy has won the FIFA World Cup four times. Italy won the competition for the first time in 1934, when it was only in its second edition and played Italy.  The 1938 competition was claimed by the government in an effort to replicate its victory and defend its world championship crown. It took 44 years for Italy to win its third World Cup trophy following that. In the 1982 competition's final match, they defeated West Germany 3-1. Italy last lifted the World Cup in 2006.

2. Germany (4)

Germany is the only country, after Italy, to have won the World Cup four times. The Germans historically dominated the field, winning in 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014. The most recent title was especially notable because it saw the Germans defeat the Brazilian hosts in the semi-finals by 7-1 on their way to the title. Mario Gotze famously scored the winning goal against Argentina in the final match to lift the title.

1. Brazil (5)

Brazil is the most successful nation when it comes to FIFA World Cup trophies. They are the most dominant team in the competition with five titles. In the 1958 World Cup, Pele represented Brazil. He scored twice in the title match to give his nation its first trophy. Brazilian teams also won the World Cup in 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. They are considered one of the favourites to win the World Cup in Qatar.