• otv
Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: Mumbai Indians (MI) won the first Qualifier of the Indian Premier League (IPL) against Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Dubai International Stadium on Thursday. DC failed to chase the winning target of 201 runs set by MI at a loss of 5 wickets in the match scoring 143 runs at a loss of 8 wickets. MI won the match by 57 runs.

DC had a devastating start in the match. Early departure of openers Prithvi Shaw in the 2nd ball and Ajinkya Rahane's dismissal in the 5th ball of the first over of Trent Boult was a big shock for DC. Both the batsmen departed scoring no runs.

The loss continued in the 2nd over with dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan who could score nor runs. With dismissal of 3rd wicket, DC had yet not scored a single run. Jasprit Bumrah took the big wicket of Dhawan.

However, DC skipper Shreyas Iyer was able to collect a few runs before departing in the 4th over. It was again Bumrah who dismissed him. Iyer scored 12 runs off 7 balls while the team's total score stood at 20.

Next, it was Rishab Pant who departed in the 8th over. Krunal Pandya dismissed Pant while he scored only 3 runs.

Marcus Stoinis set a good game in the innings and his back-to-back boundaries and sixes was a ray of hope for DC. A well-made half-century helped DC to reach 75 runs by the end of 12th over.

Bumrah struck again in the 16th over dismissing Stoinis at 65 runs off 45 balls while DC stood at 112. In the same over, Daniel Sams departed with no runs.

Though Axar Patel took a good stand he departed in the last over scoring 42 runs off 32 balls. DC failed to chase the massive target of 201. DC ended up scoring 143 runs at a loss of 8 wickets.

Earlier today, a 60-run partnership off just 23 balls between Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan helped Mumbai Indians (MI) score 200/5 in 20 overs against Delhi Capitals (DC) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) Qualifier 1 match here on Thursday.

MI scored 55 in the last three overs and 78 in the last five to get into an advantageous position.

Pandya, who remained unbeaten on 37 (14 balls, 6x5), later said in the TV interview on Star Sports that the score they have put up is enough. Kishan remained unbeaten on a 30-ball 55 (4x4, 6x3).

MI were in a spot of bother at 101/4 in 12.2 overs when both Kishan and Pandya joined hands.

After a brilliant start through Quinton de Kock (40 off 25 balls, 4x5, 6x1) and Suryakumar Yadav (55 off 30, 4x4, 6x3), both of who added 62 for the second wicket after skipper Rohit Sharma was dismissed early, MI lost wickets in a clutch with Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya failing.

For Delhi Capitals, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the most successful bowler, picking up three wickets for 29 runs. Their South African pace duo of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje were expensive, leaking 92 runs in their eight overs.

Delhi Capitals (DC) had won the toss and chose to bowl against MI.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Other Stories