Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: Mumbai Indians (MI) won the final match of the 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) against Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday. MI beat DC by 5 wickets chasing the target score of 157 runs at loss of 5 wickets with 8 balls left. Mumbai won the IPL title for the 5th time.

MI skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock were the opening pair.

The duo had a good start in the first 4 overs posting 45 runs. However, in the first ball of the 5th over, MI lost its first wicket. Marcus Stoinis dismissed de Kock. Stoinis could score only 20 runs off 11 deliveries.

Suryakumar Yadav took over the stand with Rohit and took the total team's score to 61 runs by the end of the powerplay.

However, in the 11th over, Suryakumar got run out while the team's score stood at 90.

After the dismissal of the 2nd wicket, Rohit posted his half-century. With this, he also breached the 3000-run mark as a Captain.

Next it was Rohit who departed in the 17th over. Anrich Nortje took the big wicket while Rohit could score 68 runs off 50 balls with 5 boundaries and 6 sixes.

Kieron Pollard departed in the 1st ball of 18th over. Kagiso Rabada dismissed Pollard while he scored 9 runs off 3 balls.

Anrich Nortje struck again in the 19th over dismissing Hardik Pandya at 3.

However, Ishan Kishan scored 33 runs off 19 balls with 3 boundaries and 1 six.

MI scored 157 runs with Krunal Pandya's single-run. MI achieved the victory target with 8 balls left. Winning the IPL 2020 match, MI won the title for the 5th time.

Earlier in the first innings, Captain Shreyas Iyer's unbeaten 65 took Delhi Capitals (DC) to 156/6 wickets in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) here on Tuesday.

After losing their first three wickets within the first six overs, DC were brought back into the game with a 96-run stand between Iyer and Rishabh Pant (56) for the fourth wicket.

The partnership between Iyer and Pant was broken in the 15th over by Nathan Coulter-Nile after which Shimron Hetymer fell to Boult. Coulter-Nile then got the wicket of Axar Patel.

DC lost the in-form Marcus Stoinis off the very first ball of the match to fast bowler Trent Boult. Boult went on to dismiss Ajinkya Rahane while Shikhar Dhawan fell to Jayant Yadav, who was brought into the team in place of Rahul Chahar.

Boult was the highest wicket taker for MI with three scalps while Coulter-Nile and Yadav got two and one respectively. Jasprit Bumrah finished wicketless.

Earlier, DC won the toss and chose to bat against MI


Delhi Capitals: Marcus Stoinis, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah