Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: Delhi Capitals (DC) won the toss and chose to bat against Mumbai Indians (MI) in the final of the 2020 Indian Premier League (IPL) at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday. DC could score 156 runs at loss of 7 wickets in the 20 overs against MI. MI needs 157 runs to win the final match of IPL 2020 and triumph for the 5th time.

Marcus Stoinis and Shikhar Dhawan were the opening pair for DC.

In a big blow to DC, facing the first ball of the final match, Marcus Stoinis departed. Trent Boult took the big wicket.

Once again in the 3rd over it was Boult who took DC's 2nd wicket. Ajinkya Rahane departed while the team's score stood at 16 runs.

In the 4th over, it was Dhawan who departed scoring 15 runs. Then, DC's total score stood at 22. Jayant Yadav bowled Dhawan.

By the end of powerplay, DC's total score was 41 with loss of 3 wickets.

However, DC skipper Shreyas Iyer and Rishab Pant took a steady stand. With their steady partnership, DC posted 75 runs by the midway. Shreyas scored 26 runs off 22 deliveries while Pant scored 32 runs off 20 balls.

DC crossed the 100-run-mark in the 14th over while Rishab's score was 42 and Iyer stood with 39 runs.

Meanwhile, Pant scored a half-century. But, Nathan Coulter-Nile broke the long-standing partnership in the 15th over. Pant departed scoring 56 runs off 37 deliveries.

Next it was Iyer, who scored his 3rd half-century in IPL.

But, Boult struck DC again dismissing Shimron Hetmyer in the 18th over. Hetmyer could score only 5 runs.

Axar patel departed in the last over scoring only 9 runs. Coulter-Nile got his 2nd wicket in the match while DC's total score stood at 149 runs.

Next it was Kagiso Rabada who got run-out in the last ball of the innings.

DC skipper Iyer stood unbeaten scoring 65 runs off 55 balls with six boundaries and 2 sixes.

At loss of 7 wickets, DC could score 156 runs in 20 overs posting a winning target of 157 runs for MI in the final match of IPL 2020.

Earlier, DC captain Shreyas Iyer said that they have stuck with the same team that beat SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the second Qualifier on Sunday. MI captain Rohit Sharma said that they have decided to go for Jayant Yadav in place of spinner Rahul Chahar.


Delhi Capitals: Marcus Stoinis, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Praveen Dubey, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah