Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Abu Dhabi: New Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) captain Eoin Morgan started off his reign by winning the toss and choosing to bat against the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 32nd match of IPL 2020 on Friday at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium. MI restricted KKR at 148 runs at a loss of 5 wickets and got a victory target of 149.

In a first blow to KKR, R. Tripathy departed at 7 runs. Trent Boult dismissed Tripathy while the team's score was 18.

KKR's second wicket was down at N Rana scoring 5 runs in Nathan Coulter's over.

At the end of the powerplay KKR was 33/2.

K Gill departed at 21 following him, Dinesh Karthik departed at 4 runs. Rahul Chahar took both the wickets back to back which indeed slowed down the Kolkata team.

Jasprit Bumrah departed A Russell at 12.

However, amid the tussle between the two teams, Pat Cummins and E Morgan scored a much needed 50 runs partnership.

Cummins scored 53 runs off 36 balls and Morgan scored 39 runs off 29 balls. Both remained not out and scored 148 runs by the end of 20 overs.

KKR announced Morgan as replacement for Dinesh Karthik as captain earlier in the day.

MI are looking to go atop the table with a win while KKR are looking to bounce back from a heavy 82-run defeat to Royal Challengers Bangalore in their previous game.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Chris Green, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna.

Also Read:

IPL 2020: KXIP’ Batsmen Clinch Victory From RCB, Win By 8 Wickets

IPL 2020: Dinesh Karthik Steps Down As KKR Captain, Eoin Morgan Takes Charge