• otv
Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

Dubai: Delhi Capitals (DC) on Thursday won the toss and chose to bowl against the Mumbai Indians (MI) in the first Qualifier of the Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Stadium. MI scored 200 runs at a loss of 5 wickets in the match.

MI skipper Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock were the opening pairs. de Kock had a good start in the first over, but Rohit departed in the 2nd over scoring no runs. Ravichandran Ashwin took the big wicket while MI's score was 16.

However, Suryakumar Yadav came in to help the MI opener after their captain's dismissal.

By the end of the powerplay, MI's total score reached 63 runs.

But, MI got a big jolt in the 8th over with dismissal of de Kock. Again, it was Ashwin who struck back. de Kock could score 40 runs off 24 balls.

At the halfway mark, MI was at 93 runs with loss of 2 wickets.

Next, it was Suryakumar who kept the hopes alive. With his half-century, Suryakumar took MI's score to 100 before he got dismissed scoring 51 runs. He departed in the 12th over and Anrich Nortje got the big wicket.

Ashwin in the next over again took a wicket turning down the hopes of MI fans. Kieron Pollard couldn't score a single run before departing in the 13th over.

Marcus Stoinis dismissed Krunal Pandya in the 17th over. Pandya could score only 13 runs off 9 balls.

However, Ishan Kishan accelerated the innings with his well-made half-century and continued his innings remaining unbeaten. Ishan scored 55 runs off 30 deliveries.

Showcasing a magnificent play, Hardik Pandya scored 37 runs off 14 balls and remained unbeaten. The duo helped to accelerate the team's score to 200 runs giving a winning target of 201 to DC.

DC have gone for the same team that had faced Royal Challengers Bangalore in their last group stage match.

MI, meanwhile, have brought back Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya, who had been rested for their final league game against SunRisers Hyderabad.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Other Stories