We Report, You Decide

IPL 2020: CSK Scores 125/5 Against RR In 37th Match

Abu Dhabi: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the toss and elected to bat first against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in their 2020 Indian Premier League’s 37th match here on Monday. In the first innings of the match, CSK scored 125 runs at a loss of 5 wickets. RR got a winning target of 126 runs.

CSK’s openers Sam Curran and Faf du Plessis entered the field with great spirits. However, their partnership didn’t continue for a long time. Jofra Archer dismissed du Plessis at 10 runs while Curran had scored only 3 runs off 10 balls.

Next, it was Shane Watson who departed at 8 runs off 3 balls. Kartik Tyagi got the big wicket in the 3rd over. Faf and Watson depart in quick succession and CSK lost 2 wickets on the powerplay.

Shreyas Gopal departed Curran in the 8th over while he scored 22 runs off 25 balls.

Next, it was Ambati Rayudu who departed off the last ball of 9th over scoring 13 runs off 19 balls. Rahul Tewatia dismissed Rayudu while CSK’s total score stood at 56 runs. Taking Rayudu’s catch, Sanju Samson recorded 50 catches in IPL.

With a lasting partnership of MS Dhoni (23) and Ravindra Jadeja (22), CSK scored 100 runs in the 17th over. However, Dhoni departed in the midway of the partnership scoring 28 runs off 28 balls. Jofra Archer made Dhoni run out.

However, Jadeja (35) took the team’s total score to 125 runs with Kedar Jadhav (4) and remained unbeaten.

Related Story: IPL 2020: DC Ride On Shikhar Dhawan’s Maiden Ton To Beat CSK By 5 Wickets

Josh Hazlewood has replaced all-rounder Dwayne Bravo after his injury and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla has come in for Karn Sharma.

“We will bat first. It is a used wicket and chances are it may slow down as the game progresses. He won’t be available for the next few games,” said Dhoni after the toss.

For RR, Ankit Rajpoot has replaced Jaydev Unadkat, who went for an expensive penultimate over that allowed the Bangalore franchise to win on Saturday.

Dhoni became the first cricketer to play 200 Indian Premier League (IPL) matches in today’s match.

You May Like: IPL 13: No Place For MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli In Fantasy Teams Picked By Ex-Players

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(WK/Capt), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood.

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson (WK), Steven Smith (Capt), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi.

You might also like

Comments are closed.