We Report, You Decide

IPL 2020: After Horrific Start, CSK Ends With 114/9 Against MI

Sharjah: Mumbai Indians (MI) won the toss and chose to bowl against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the Sharjah International Stadium on Friday in the 41st match of Indian Premier League (IPL). CSK with a horrific start in today’s match, scored 114 runs at a loss of 9 wickets.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis were the openers to CSK. In a shocking moment for CSK, Ruturaj was dismissed by Trent Boult in the first over of the innings. Ruturaj scored no runs while the team’s score also remained the same.

Jasprit Bumrah in the 2nd over dismissed Ambati Rayudu while the team’s score was only 3 runs. Striking again, Bumrah dismissed N Jagadeesan in the next ball of the same over.

By the end of 2nd over of the innings, CSK was 3/3. Team’s poor performance continued and Boult dismissed du Plessis in the 3rd over while there was no change in score.

Bumrah and Boult picked two wickets each.

By the end of powerplay, with 24 runs on board, CSK lost another wicket. Ravindra Jadeja departed in the 6th over scoring 7 runs off 5 balls. Boult took the big wicket smashing hopes of CSK team and followers.

Rahul Chahar even took the last hope of CSK in the 7th over by dismissing MS Dhoni. The CSK skipper scored 16 runs of 15 balls.

Chahar again struck CSK in the 9th over dismissing Deepak Chahar while he scored no runs.

Related Story: IPL 2020: Struggling CSK To Face Arch-Rivals MI In Do-Or-Die Battle

However, Nathan Coulter-Nile dismissed Shardul Thakur in the 15th over. Thakur scored 11 runs off 20 balls. With this, NCN got his first wicket.

However, Sam Curran scored 52 runs off 46 balls before getting dismissed in the last ball. Imran Tahir remained unbeaten as the last standing wicket with 13 runs.

By the end of the match Boult took four wickets while, Bumrah and Chahar took two wickets each.

MI are without captain Rohit Sharma due to a hamstring injury and Kieron Pollard is leading the side in his absence.

Hopes of CSK to get off the bottom of the table after a disastrous run of four defeats in their last five matches seems to shatter after taking note of today’s innings.

MI’s winning streak was ended in their previous match after two Super Overs against Kings XI Punjab. But with today’s match and the target score given by CSK, it seems, MI may clinch victory easily.

Also Read: Struggling CSK Skip Mid-Season IPL Transfer Window

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard(captain), Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Chennai Super Kings: Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, N Jagadeesan, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood, Imran Tahir

You might also like

Comments are closed.