East Bengal lock horns against Churchill in Fed Cup opener

Cuttack: East Bengal FC will clash with Churchill Brothers SC in the inaugural match of the 2017 Federation Cup at the Barabati Stadium here today.

Last year’s runners-up and current holders of I-League championships, Aizawl FC will clash against Chennai City FC in the second match scheduled later in the day.

Teams have been grouped based on their respective current positions in the final I-league table.

While clubs finishing first, third, sixth and eighth in the I-League have been clubbed in Group A, teams at the second, fourth, fifth and seventh spots have been included in Group B.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals which begin from May 14.

Aizawl FC, East Bengal, Churchill Brothers FC Goa and Chennai City FC are slotted in Group A while defending champions Mohun Bagan, Shillong Lajong FC, Bengaluru FC and DSK Shivajians FC have been drawn into Group B.

Mohun Bagan are most successful team in the tournament having won the title a record 14 times. They have reached the final 19 times and this year they begin their title defence against DSK Shivajians FC on Monday.