Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday has appointed former India pacers Debashis Mohanty, Chetan Sharma and Abey Kuruvilla as national selectors.

Legendary cricketer from Odisha, Debashish Mohanty, who also headed the Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) Selection Committee will now serve as a member of All-India Senior Selection Committee Panel.

Chetan Sharma will replace Sunil Joshi as the chairman of the senior national selection committee. Joshi and Harvinder Singh, who were appointed as selectors in February this year, will continue in their roles.

The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Madan Lal, Rudra Pratap Singh and Sulakshana Naik on Thursday met virtually to select three members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee (Men).

Speaking exclusively to OTV, Mohanty said "The new role is a challenge for me as it will demand more responsibility. I don't want to rush on my new job, rather, I would like to take one step at a time and see where it takes me," Mohanty said thanking BCCI, OCA and other supporters for his new endeavour.