Sharmili Mallick

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday felicitated six hockey players from Odisha who were part of the Indian teams that bagged medals in the recently-concluded Asian Games 2018 in Jakarta.

At an event organised at the State Secretariat in Bhubaneswar, Patnaik gave away prize money of Rs 1 crore each to the four women hockey players from the State- Lilima Minz, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Deep Grace Ekka-who were part of the national team that won silver medal in the Games.

The CM also felicitated and gave away Rs 50 lakh each to Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas of the men’s national hockey team which won bronze medal at the mega event.

Besides, Patnaik also felicitated and gave away cash reward of Rs 7.5 lakh for two Odisha women athletes, Jauna Murmu and Purnima Hembram for their participation in the Asian Games.

Patnaik wished the players on the occasion and assured all necessary support in future.

Also Read: CM Naveen Announces 7-Day Relief For Flood-Hit Districts In Odisha

“I would like to congratulate all the players for having done so very well at the Asian Games. All of us are very proud of you. If there is any help you require in the future, we will be able to support you in that,” said Naveen.