Bengal thrashes Odisha in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20

Ranchi/Bhubaneswar: Bengal defeated an inexperienced Odisha team by seven wickets in their first game of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at JSCA International Stadium in Ranchi on Monday. Bengal collected all the four points from this game.

Bengal chased down the 158-run target in 18.4 overs with both the openers Shreevats Goswami and V Singh scoring fifties. Singh was the first man to depart scoring 64 after an impressive 134-run opening stand. Skipper Manoj Tewary got out early to Abhishek Raut while Goswami (79) was picked up by left-arm spinner Jayanta Behera.

Earlier in the game, Odisha won the toss and batted first. Wicket-keeper Rajesh Dhuper went on to score 90 off just 64 balls. Leading the side for the first time Anurag Sarangi scored 23 while Prayas Singh Thakur and Debasish Samantaray got 20 and 19 runs, respectively. Odisha finished with 157/5 in 20 overs with Manoj Tewary and Writtick Chatterjee picking up two wickets apiece for Bengal.

Odisha will be playing its next game against Assam in the East Zone competition of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at the same venue.