• otv
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: As many as nine players from Odisha have been included in the 26-member India Rugby team for the upcoming Asia Rugby Women 15-A-side Championships scheduled to be held at the Queenstown Stadium in Singapore from June 2, 2018. This is the first ever Indian women’s 15-A-side rugby team that will participate in the championships.

According to official sources, Meera Rani Hembram, Sanjukata Munda, Laxmipriya Sahu, Subhalaxmi Barik, Bhagyalaxmi Barik, Sumitra Nayak, Hupi Majhi, Rajani Sabar and Pravati Kisku from Odisha will represent Team India.

The tri-nation series will kick-start with India scheduled to play their first match against host Singapore at the Queenstown Stadium on June 2. On June 5, Team India, in their second game, will lock horns with Philippines.

[caption id="attachment_299134" align="aligncenter" width="1024"] Team India for Asia Rugby Women's Championships[/caption]

The Asia Rugby Championship, or ARC, is an annual rugby union competition held amongst national rugby sides within the Asia Rugby region. The competition was originally known as the Asian Rugby Football Tournament when founded in 1969, and was called the Asian Five Nations from 2008 to 2014.

Other Stories