Odisha to host 2019 Commonwealth TT Championships

Cuttack: After successfully hosting major international sports events like the Hockey World Cup, Odisha is now all set to organise another major event, the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships this year.

Informing in this regard, the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) has announced that Odisha will host the 21st edition of the Commonwealth TT Championships from July 17 to 22 this year.

The announcement came after the successful conclusion of the 80th National Table Tennis Championship at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium here in Cuttack where Sharath Kamal lifted the men’s trophy and Archana Kamath won the women’s title.

Praising the efforts of the Odisha State Table Tennis Association for successfully organising the National TT Championships,  the TTFI also expressed satisfaction over the infrastructure of the stadium.

The tournament had started on January 4 and ended on a high note on Wednesday with Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal handing over the trophy to the winners.

“Undoubtedly, Odisha is emerging as a sports hub in India. We are welcoming the entire world here,” said Lal.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also expressed his happiness over the announcement for hosting the Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships.