With over 200 million monthly active users in India, it seems WhatsApp is gradually turning out to be a crucial element in the lives of socially-active people and every little update it brings, plays a significant role. After rolling out its group calling feature — for both voice and video options, Facebook-owned WhatsApp has rolled out "Picture in Picture (PiP) mode" for android users that will allow them to view videos within a chat window, without opening third party pages or apps.
As per sources, the update is available now at Google Play with the latest WhatsApp's version 2.18.380.
The feature was earlier available for Android beta users running Android operating system (OS version 4.4 and above) only.
Earlier in October, WABetaInfo, a fan website that tracks WhatsApp, reported that the PiP feature is being introduced for all Android beta users that would allow users to play videos hosted on platforms such as YouTube, Facebook, Instagram and Streamable right within WhatsApp.
The PiP feature was rolled out in January for the iOS users.
In another latest upgrade, WhatsApp recently announced that is set to increase the time limit to delete messages from the 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds to 13 hours 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
The changes were confirmed by a Twitter account WABetaInfo. Apart from the change in “Delete For Everyone” feature, it is also apparently adding a new rule to the recall message.
“LIMITS UPDATED! WhatsApp has updated the “Recipient limit”. What does it mean? If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won’t receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked,” WABetaInfo tweeted.
“This is a protection against modded users that revoked messages sent weeks, months and years ago. You can still delete a message for everyone within 1h, 8m, 16s as long as the recipient will receive your revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s,” it added.
[With IANS Inputs]