Narendra Modi Takes Oath As Prime Minister; Two From Odisha In NaMo 2.0

New Delhi: Narendra Damodardas Modi took oath as the Prime Minister of India for a second term. President of India Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy to the PM.

Modi sworn in as prime minister for a second consecutive term at a glittering ceremony at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

Powerful BJP president Amit Shah and seasoned leaders like Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goyal, Prakash Javadekar, and Ravi Shankar Prasad sworn in as Cabinet ministers along with Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the glittering ceremony Thursday evening.

Dharmendra Pradhan, Ramvilas Paswan, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Smriti Irani, Arjun Munda, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Prahlad Joshi, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Shiv Sena’s Arvind Sawant, Giriraj Singh and Narendra Singh Tomar also took oath as Union Ministers.

Another new face which has found a place in the Union Council of Ministers is former Foreign Secretary Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

Kiren Rijiju, Faggan Singh Kulaste, Ashwini Kumar Choubey and Arjun Ram Meghwal took oath as Union Ministers.

WATCH BJP President Amit Shah takes oath as Union Minister:

The news of Shah joining the Cabinet came from Gujarat BJP chief Jitu Vaghani, who tweeted a congratulatory message. “Had a courtesy meeting with our mentor Amit Shah and gave my best wishes to him on his inclusion as a strong member of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s council of ministers,” he tweeted.

Shah was part of a meeting Modi held at his residence at 4.30 pm with the leaders selected for ministerial berths.

Babul Supriyo, Sanjeev Balyan and Anurag Singh Thakur took oath as Ministers. Newly elected MP from Balasore, Pratap Sarangi took oath as Union Minister of State.

The following are names of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Council of Ministers:

Cabinet Ministers

1. Rajnath Singh
2. Amit Shah
3. Nitin Gadkari
4. D.V. Sadananda Gowda
5. Nirmala Sitharaman
6. Ram Vilas Paswan
7. Narendra Singh Tomar
8. Ravi Shankar Prasad
9. Harsimrat Kaur Badal
10. Thawarchand Gehlot
11. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
12. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank
13. Arjun Munda
14. Smriti Irani
15. Harsh Vardhan
16. Prakash Javdekar
17. Piyush Goyal
18. Dharmendra Pradhan
19. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
20. Prahlad Joshi
21. Mahendra Nath Pandey
22. Arvind Sawant
23. Giriraj Singh
24. Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

1. Santosh Kumar Gangwar
2. Rao Inderjit Singh
3. Shripad Yesso Naik
4. Jitendra Singh
5. R.K. Singh
6. Kiren Rijiju
7. Prahlad Singh Patel
8. Hardeep Singh Puri
9. Mansukh Mandaviya

Ministers of State
1. Faggan Singh Kulaste
2. Ashwini Kumar Choubey
3. Arjun Ram Meghwal
4. General (Retd) V.K. Singh
5. Krishan Pal
6. Danve Raosaheb Dadarao
7. G. Kishan Reddy
8. Parshottam Rupala
9. Ramdas Athawale
10. Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
11. Babul Supriyo
12. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
13. Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
14. Anurag Singh Thakur
15. Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
16. Nityanand Rai
17. Rattan Lal Kataria
18. V. Muraleedharan
19. Renuka Singh Saruta
20. Som Parkash
21. Rameswar Teli
22. Pratap Chandra Sarangi
23. Kailash Choudhary
24. Debasree Chaudhuri

Earlier in the morning, the prime minister held a final round of consultations with Shah to give shape to his council of ministers before sending the list to the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

As the party geared up for the celebrations, Shah’s Akbar Road residence was decked up.

Modi and Shah have held several rounds of discussions in the last two days ahead of government formation.

The swearing-in ceremony in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, as expected, was a grand affair with more than 8,000 guests, including leaders from the BIMSTEC countries, opposition leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi, chief ministers, corporate honchos and film stars set to be in attendance as President Ram Nath Kovind administers the oath of office and secrecy to 68-year-old Modi and his ministerial colleagues.