Sabyasachi Mohapatra receives national award for Pahadara Luha

Bhubaneswar: Eminent Odia film director Sabyasachi Mohapatra on Tuesday received the National Film Award from President Pranab Mukjherjee in New Delhi. Mohapatra won the award for his film ‘Pahadara Luha’ (Tears of the Mountains), which was adjudged the best entry in the regional category.

This is the second National Award for Mohapatra, who had earlier won it for Adim Bichar in the same segment.

Another Odia film maker Soumendra Padhi also received the National Award for the Best Children’s film for ‘Duronto’, his take on the inspiring story of child prodigy Budhia Singh, who had won worldwide fame as the youngest marathon runner at the age of four.

Amitabh Bachchan and Kangana Ranaut received the Awards for the Best Actor and Best Actress respectively. While Bachchan was felicitated for his praiseworthy performance in Piku, Kangana bagged it for her box office stunner, Tanu Weds Manu Returns. This is the third time Kangana has bagged a National Award during her short but remarkable journey in Bollywood.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali received the award as Best Director for Bajirao Mastani starring Deepika Padukone, Ranveer Singh and Priyanka Chopra. S S Rajmouli was awarded for his masterpiece, Baahubali under the Best Film category.