Odia Filmfare: Babusan, Elina win Best Actor Award

Bhubaneswar: The 8th Ruchi Odia Filmfare Award (OFA) ceremony was held amid much fanfare here last evening with Babusan Mohanty winning the best actor award for ‘Hero No 1’ and Elina Samantray Best Actress Award for the movie ‘Abhay’.

Bollywood actress Raveena Tondon and Miss Asia Pacific 2013 Srishti Rana attended the event as chief guests. Comedian Sunil Pal, who also attended the event, entertained the audience with his jokes.

While awards were given in total 28 categories, Tarang Cine Productions bagged 12 awards for its four films. Veteran actor Bijay Mohanty was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award for his remarkable contribution to Odia film industry. He was presented with cash prize of Rs 25,000, a trophy and a certificate. Similarly, veteran actor and producer Pradyumna Lenka was also awarded on the occasion.

This apart, Debidutt Mohanty was awarded for Best Screenplay, Shakti Baral for Best Dialogue and Souren Bhatt for Best Singer. Besides, newcomer Swaraj and Bhumika bagged Jury awards.