Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The regional centre of India Meteorological Department (IMD) in Bhubaneswar has issued thunderstorm and lightning warning for as many as eight districts of Odisha till 4: 30 PM today. The warning has been extended for six more districts till 7:15 PM.

The warning was issued after satellite images of Doppler Weather Radar indicated thunderstorm with lightning and heavy rainfall at one or two places over the districts.

As per official sources, the alert has been issued for Kandhamal, Sambalpur, Mayurbhanj, Kalahandi, Rayagada, Puri, Keonjhar and Nayagarh districts till 4:30 PM today.

As per the latest report, thunderstorm & lightning alert has been issued for districts --Puri, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Cuttack, Khurda, Bhubaneswar, Gajapati, Ganjam and Nayagarh till 7:15 pm today.

People in these areas have been advised to stay indoors and take shelter in nearby buildings and other safe locations.

Earlier today, the Meteorological Centre had issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for Jharsuguda, Sambalpur, Bargarh, Boudh, Bolangir, Sonepur, Nuapada, Nabarangpur and Kalahandi districts till 10:15 AM.