Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The Regional Meteorological Centre Saturday issued heavy rain and thunderstorm alert for 19 districts in Odisha.

The thunderstorm alert has been issued for Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Bhadrak, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Puri, Khurda, Nayagarh, Ganjam, Gajapati, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Sambalpur, Deogarh and Koraput districts till 1.15 pm today.

Meanwhile, the water level of several rivers including Bansadhara and Nagabali in Rayagada has started to rise while Jalaka River breached its danger mark near Mathani under Jaleswar block of Balasore district.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today convened an emergency meeting and reviewed the flood-like situation that has arised following the heavy rainfall in the past 24 hours across the State. Special Relief Commissioner (SRC), Bishnupada Sethi stated the district administrations have been put on alert to deal with any emergency.


Also Read: Water levels rise in Odisha Rivers; Met warns of heavy rain

Sethi further informed that the situation is being closely monitored while control rooms have also been set up in all districts.

"There are reports of heavy rains from most of the districts across Odisha. As the water level of some rivers is rising, we are monitoring the situation round-the-clock. Several teams of ODRAF are on standby and will be engaged in relief and resuce operations if required," said Sethi.