• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: Disappointed over ticket distribution, three former MLAs along with their hundreds of supporters resigned from the Congress party in Odisha today.

Former MLA of Junagarh, Gobardhan Das and two other ex-MLAs Kumarmani Shabar and Jugaram Behera reached the Pradesh Congress office in Bhubaneswar and tendered their resignations. Moreover, they alleged the party of selling tickets to mine owners in lieu of money.

Interestingly, similar allegations were levelled by some party leaders and activists during the 2014 elections.

“After Niranjan Patnaik occupied the PCC chief post, we had hopes of getting tickets. However, leaders, who had strengthened the Kalahandi Congress from their student days, were ignored. After consultation with Bhakta Das, party ticket has been given in exchange of money,” said Gobardhan Das.

Meanwhile, Niranjan Patnaik denied the allegations and said resentment is there in other parties as well. “For every poll constituency, there are multiple aspirants. If one was picked definitely there will be displeasure among others,” said Patnaik.

The party’s sitting MLA from G.Udayagiri, Jacob Pradhan also resigned from the primary membership of the party today. He had filed nomination as an independent candidate yesterday after he was denied a ticket.

Other Stories