• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Sharmili Mallick

Bhubaneswar: The State Lokayukta selection committee headed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has selected two names- one judicial, another non-judicial as the members of the panel. The names of the members have been recommended to the Governor of Odisha for approval.

“A total of five members- two judicial and three non-judicial will be included as the members of the Lokayukta. So far we have selected two names-one judicial and another non-judicial member,” informed Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra after the selection committee meeting at State Guest House on Tuesday evening.

The meeting headed by CM Naveen Patnaik was also attended by Orissa High Court Chief Justice K S Jhaveri and Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat.

Earlier on March 2, Former Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court Ajit Singh was appointed as the first Lokayukta of the State. On February 11, the State Government had submitted an affidavit to the Supreme Court informing that Lokyukta would be appointed by March 31 and start functioning by April 8 in Odisha.

It is worth mentioning that Odisha was the first State to pass the Lokayukta Bill in the Assembly in February 2014.

Meanwhile on Tuesday, retired Supreme Court judge Pinaki Chandra Ghose was appointed as the country first Lokpal. Justice (retd) Ghose will head the panel that comprises Justices Dilip B. Bhosale, Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari and Ajay Kumar Tripathi.

Other Stories