• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: Following directions from the Election Commisison of India (ECI), re-polling began in 34 booths amid tight security arrangements across Odisha today.

Taking cognisance of irregularities and incidents of violence in 34 booths during third and fourth phase of polls held on April 23 and April 29 respectively, Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) had recommended the ECI for repolling.

According to official sources said the repolling is underway at nine booths including five booths in Bari, two in Binjharpur and one each in Sukinda and Dharmasala under the Jajpur parliamentary constituency.

In Cuttack, fresh polling is being held at four booths in Athagarh and one in Badamba. Since 7 am, long queues were seen outside the four polling booths in Mahanga and one in Salepur under Kendrapara parliamentary constituency.
Fresh elections are being held in four booths in Baripada and one in Bangiriposi.

Similarly, re-polling also began in three booths in Puri, two each in Balasore and Dhenkanal and one each in Bhubaneswar, Keonjhar and Jagatsinghpur parliamentary constituency.

“We are satisfied with the overall arrangement made for the re-polling today,” said a voter a polling booth in Kendrapara.

Expressing similar views another voter said, “Our main concern is the voting should be held today without any hassles and untoward incident.”

The re-polling which began at 7 AM and will continue till 6 PM today.

Other Stories