We Report, You Decide

Ravenshaw will not be declared sine die: VC Ishan Patro

Cuttack: Amid growing protests of the students demanding the university authorities to hold direct election this year, Vice Chancellor Ishan Kumar Patro today made it clear that the varsity would not be declared sine die.

Patro was rescued by police at around 5 am today after he was gheraoed by agitating students inside his office for almost 12 hours.

Speaking to media, Patro said, “I am extremely disappointed with the activity of the students. Because of a few offenders, the university would not be declared sine die as it will hamper the future of other students.

If the student unrest continuous on campus, action will be taken as per law, Patro stated.

This apart, he mentioned that show-cause notice would be issued to all the girls who returned to their respective hostels late last night. “Strict action will be taken against the girls who fail to provide satisfactory reasons for staying outside the hostels.”

- Advertisement -

As per sources, the authorities of Ravenshaw University decided not to hold the students’ union election following demonstration by several student groups who were demanding holding of direct elections.

It is for the second time in a row that students’ union election in Ravenshaw University has been cancelled.

Meanwhile in Balasore, members of the National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) staged a dharna before the Sub-Collector’s office demanding to lift the sine die declared in Nilagiri College due to bombing and ransacking of college property.

The authorities of Phulbani Autonomous College have also declared sine die following unrest on campus. As per sources, five students have been detained in the local police station in connection with ransacking college property yesterday.

Earlier, students’ union election in Utkal University was also cancelled following unrest on campus.

As per a notification issued by the Higher Education Department, the polling will be held between 8 AM and 2 PM on October 11.

While candidates will file their nomination papers on October 3, the last date of withdrawal of nomination is October 4. The final list of valid contestants will be published on the same day.

‘Why I Stand For’ meeting will be held on October 10, a day before the polling.

Votes will be counted and the election results will be declared on the day of polling on October 11. The oath taking ceremony of elected candidates will be held on October 12, the notification read.

Read Our Next Story

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)