Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the conferment of Correctional Service medals on 35 prison personnel, including six from Odisha, on the occasion of the Republic Day, a Home Ministry statement said on Friday.

Of the 35 recipients, six have been selected for Distinguished Service and 29 for Meritorious Service, the Ministry said, adding six of the awardees are women -- one for Distinguished Service and five for Meritorious Service.

Superintendent, District Jail Thiruvananthapuram, Sathyaraj D., Assistant Superintendent, Special Sub Jail Kozhikode, E. Krishnadas, Deputy Superintendent, Central Jail Bhopal, Priyadarshan Shrivastava, District Probation Officer, Sambalpur, Niranjan Sahu, Jailor, Sub-Jail Jeypore, Lalatendu Bhusan Das, and Assistant Matron, Nari Bandi Niketan, Sambalpur, Sobhagini Singh are those to be conferred Correctional Service medal for Distinguished Service.