Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: The selection committee headed by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has unanimously selected the Lokayukta chairperson, an official said on Tuesday. "The panel unanimously selected the name of chairman for Odisha Lokayukta. The name will be recommended to Governor. Official notification will be issued after the Governor's approval," said Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi.

He said the name of the members of the Lokayukta will be selected in the next meeting.

The selection committee comprises the Chief Minister, Opposition leader Narasingh Mishra, Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat, Chief Justice of Orissa High Court K.S. Jhaveri and former Supreme Court judge Ananga Patnaik.

Earlier, a seven-member search committee headed by Justice Amitabh Ray recommended names for the selection of Lokayukta chairperson and its members.

The Odisha government on Monday told the Supreme Court that the Lokayukta will start functioning by April 8 this year.

The government said the state will complete the process for the appointment of the Lokayukta by March 31, and it will start functioning by April 8.

Odisha was the first state to pass the Lokayukta Bill in the Assembly in February 2014.