• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: The nomination papers of three Independent candidates for the February 7 Rajya Sabha elections were rejected after scrutiny on Wednesday.

"Of the total eight persons who filed nomination papers yesterday, three have been rejected due to lack of required proposer for the purpose," said Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) secretary Amiya Kumar Sarangi who is also the returning officer for the Rajya Sabha polls.

The independent candidates whose nomination papers were rejected were Ramesh Mohanty, Binod Kumar Mishra and Ganeswar Mishra.

Sarangi, however, said the nomination papers of the three BJD candidates - Kalpataru Das, Ananga Uday Singhdeo and Sarojini Hembram, Congress candidate Ranjib Biswal and Independent candidate Raghunath Mohapatra were found valid after scrutiny.

Other Stories