• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Sharmili Mallick

Kendrapara: The stage is set for the much-awaited election to Patkura Assembly constituency in Kendrapara district, as around 2,44,747 voters will decide the fate of ten candidates with the segment going to polls tomorrow.

The polling will be held from 7 AM to 6 PM in as many as 309 booths across the assembly segment.

At least four companies of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) jawans will be deployed in the booths to maintain law and order and ensure smooth polling. This apart, CCTV cameras have been installed in hyper sensitive and sensitive booths to keep an eye on the anti-social elements.

“Ninety-five per cent of polling parties have reached their respective booths. We are collecting reports from sector officers regarding the safe arrival of polling officials to their booths. We have also deployed police personnel along with the polling parties as they are carrying EVM machines with them,” informed Kendrapara Collector Samarth Verma.

DGP RP Sharma said, “At least 4 companies of CAPF personnel will be deployed across booths in Patkura. Hyper sensitive and sensitive booths will be guarded by the jawans. We have also engaged mobile adequate number of patrolling and EVM guard teams.”

While the BJD has fielded Sabitri Agarwalla, widow of former Patkura MLA Bed Prakash Agarwalla, for the polls, senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra is the BJP nominee for the seat. Jayant Mohanty is Congress' candidate from the seat.

It is pertinent to mention that Agarwalla’s untimely demise on April 20 led to the postponement of election for the assembly segment. The campaigning for Patkura polls concluded yesterday while the results will be declared on July 24.

Other Stories