Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Union Railway minister Suresh Prabhu on Thursday proposed eight new railway routes in Odisha while presenting the Railway Budget for the year 2016-17.

These are Jeypore-Malkangiri, Jeypore-Nabarangpur, Berhampur Sambalpur, Junagarh-Ambaguda via Nabarangpur, Bansapani-Badabil, Barsuan-Bansapani, Bandhamunda-Rourkela and Narayangarh-Bhadrak.

Apart from this, budget allocation of Rs 240 crore has been for the remaining work of Khurda Road-Balangir route, Rs 200 crore for Paradip-Haridaspur route and Rs 150 crore for Angul-Sukinda route.

Besides, allocations have also been made in the budget for the following projects which have been approved by the Railway Board earlier.

They are Budhapanka-Salegan route (Rs 170 crore), Khurda Road-Balangir-(Rs 220 crore), Daitari-Bansapani (Rs 12.87 crore), Haridaspur-Paradip- (Rs 200 crore), trebling of Viziaganagarm-Sambalpur- (Rs 225 crore), trebling and fourth line of Jharpada-Budhapanka- (Rs 200 crore), Bansapani-Daitari-Tamka-Jakhapura- (Rs 241 crore), doubline of Sambalpur-Titlagarh- (Rs 419 crore), trebling of Bhadrak-Nirgundi- (Rs 135 crore), trebling of Bhadrak-Vizianagaram-(Rs 220 crore), Lanjigarh-Junagarh- (Rs 5.21 crore), Koraput-Jadgalpur- (Rs 120 crore), Brundamal-Jharsuguda flyover- (Rs 11.50 crore), Koraput-Singapur Road- (Rs 39 crore), Khurda Road-Vizianagaram bypass- (Rs 10 crore), Jharsuguda-Raipur new railway route-(Rs 10 crore), doubling of Jharsuguda-Champa route- (Rs 10 crore), doubling of Jharsuguda-Bilaspur- (Rs 260 crore), doubling of Sambalpur-Rengali-(Rs 85 crore), doubling of Cuttack-Barang- (Rs 1 lakh), trebling of Khurda Road-Barang- (Rs 1 crore), doubling of Barang-Raja Athagarh- (Rs 1 crore), doubling of Jharsuguda-Rengali- (Rs 10.05 crore), Puri-Delang- (Rs 8 crore), Sambalpur-Talcher- (Rs 220 crore), doubling of Rourkela-Jharsuguda- (Rs 100 crore), doubling of Bandhamunda-Ranchi-(Rs 120 crore), doubling of Manoharpur-Bandhamunda- (Rs 80 crore), doubling of Bandhamunda-Rourkela- (Rs 1 lakh), doubling of Narayangarh-Bhadrak- (Rs 1 lakh), Talcher-Bimalagarh- (Rs 150 crore), Jeypore-Malkangiri- (Rs 1 lakh), Jeypore-Nabarangpur-(Rs 1 lakh), Jharsuguda-Balaspur flyover- (Rs 60 crore) and conversion of gauge between Nuapada-Gunupur- (Rs 1 crore).

Briefing newsmen at a press meet here today, General Manager of East Coast Railway (ECoR) Rajiv Vishnoi said as decided by the ministry, a new freight corridor would come up between Kharagpur and Vijaywada.

Referring to the modernisation of Bhubaneswar railway station, Vishnoi said as part of the programme, efforts are on to install Wi-Fi system in Bhubaneswar by March this year.