We Report, You Decide

OSRTC Buses, 6 New Trains In Odisha From Tomorrow As Public Transport Limps Back To Normalcy

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha State Road Transport Corporation (OSRTC) is all set to resume bus operations on 66 routes across the State while the East Coast Railway will also run six trains within Odisha from Monday (June 8) with an aim to gradually restore the public transport which has been out of gear following the enforcement of nationwide Covid lockdown in March.

As per directives issued by the State government, buses will be allowed to carry passengers up to its seating capacity. Wearing of mask will be compulsory for all the commuters.

“We are resuming regular service with 96 buses connecting 22 towns in the state. We will keep adding more number of buses and routes over a period of time,” said OSRTC CMD Arun Bothra on Saturday.

It may be noted that private buses are yet to begin operations in a full-fledged manner despite government’s approval due to low passenger footfall amid prevailing lockdown regulations and various other issues.

Similarly, the ECoR will run 6 special trains in Odisha from tomorrow. Since the State government has enforced weekend shutdown in 11 districts, no local train movement will be allowed on Saturdays and Sundays.

Here’s the list of notified intra-state trains:

1. Bhubaneswar-Bolangir-Bhubaneswar Special (5 Days)

2. Bhubaneswar-Bhadrak-Bhubaneswar Special (5 Days)

3. Bhubaneswar-Berhampur-Bhubaneswar Special (5 Days)

4. Sambalpur-Khurda Road-Sambalpur Special (5 Days)

5. Bhubaneswar-Koraput-Bhuabaneswar Special via Angul-Sambalpur-Rayagada (Tri-weekly)

6. Rourkela-Bhubaneswar Intercity Express (5 Days)

As per East Coast Railway Officials, passengers can book tickets from the counters as well as from IRCTC website. However, only confirmed ticket holders will be allowed to board the trains.

Stories You May Like:

Odisha Resumes Bus Services For 1st Time After Lockdown Enforcement, OSRTC Buses In All Green Zones Now

ECoR Announces Rs 5000 Gift For Babies Born On Shramik Special Trains

Read Our Next Story