We Report, You Decide

Odisha Govt Invites Applications For VCs Of 3 Varsities

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha higher education department on Wednesday issued notification for appointment of new vice-chancellors of three State universities – Ravenshaw University, Sambalpur University and Odisha State Open University.

Three separate notifications have been issued by the State government for the appointment of VCs who are expected to be academicians of repute with adequate administrative experience.

According to the notification, the applicant should be a distinguished academician of proven academic and administrative excellence and a well-rounded personality with a minimum of 10 years of experience as Professor in a University system or 10 years in an equivalent position in reputed research and/or academic organisation.

The post carries a pay of Rs. 2, 10,000/- (Rupees two lakhs and ten thousand) with Special Allowance of Rs. 5000/- per month and other usual allowances. The tenure of the Vice-Chancellor will be four years from the date he/she assumes office or till he/she attains 67 years of age; whichever is earlier.

The applicants are required to apply in the prescribed application proforma through e-mail attachment to hedsec.od@nic.in.Shortlisted candidates will be called for interview (to be held in Bhubaneswar in physical mode) by a three-member Search Committee.

After interview, the Committee will recommend names of three candidates for each university to the Chancellor (Governor of Odisha) who will select one of them for appointment as Vice-Chancellor.

It is reminded here that Governor Professor Ganeshi Lal on Monday appointed new vice-chancellors for six universities in the State.

Aparajita Chowdhury has been appointed as new VC of Ramadevi Women’s University, Bhubaneswar while Sabita Acharya will look after the Utkal University. Similarly, Dinabandhu Sahoo has been posted as the new VC of Fakir Mohan University, Balasore.

(Edited By Suryakant Jena)

You might also like

Comments are closed.