We Report, You Decide

Odisha DGP Inaugurates 2nd Traffic Police Station In Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: A 2nd traffic police station was inaugurated today by the Police DG, B. K Sharma at Chandrasekharpur in Bhubaneswar.

The new police station will have jurisdiction over eight police stations namely Nandankanan, Infocity, Chandrasekharpur, Nayapalli, Khandagiri, Tamando, Chandaka and Jatni.

Earlier, the Smart City with over 10 lakh vehicles had only one traffic police station near AG square.

Rolling out the new facility which was earlier working as a traffic unit, DGP Sharma said, “I hope a better policing will prevail with the inauguration of this new traffic police station here. I also expect the help and support of the citizens in the area.”

Experts believe that the new traffic PS will be useful for streamlining traffic enforcement in the ever expanding capital city especially after the implementation of New Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Act.

At present, existing traffic police station works more for VVIP duty and traffic management during law and order situations making it difficult for the department to manage the vehicular population of the city.

Ex-Senior cop, Suryamani Tripatrhy said, “120 constables out of the sanctioned 140 posts are deployed here. Traffic control is such a task which can only be done with the help of local residents. So, I hope that local senior citizens will come forward whenever necessary.”

You might also like

Comments are closed.