Mrunal Manmay Dash

Cuttack: The Odisha Inter-District T-20 League concluded on Tuesday with Cuttack-A running away as the champion after defeating the East-Coast Railway by 7 runs.

Biplab Samantray was the standout performer of the series with a century and two half-centuries to his name. The star player from the State proved his mettle yet again by smashing 360 runs in the tournament.

Similarly, Jayant Behera was the pick of the bowlers in the series. He clinched 20 wickets in the tournament to become the highest wicket taker.

The Inter-District Tournament was organised to scout 20 talents who will represent Odisha in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy scheduled in January.

Sources said, not only this, 84 more players will be selected from this inter-district league who will participate in the OCL T20- League that will commence from 27 December 2020.

Speaking about Vision-2024, envisioned by OCA President Sanjay Behera, he said, "We have to give at least 5-6 years for the current system to grow players into international level players."

"In the past, players could get selected in the team without even showing their skills. But this time, we went digital and used a mobile app to monitor the performance of the players in the intra-club matches that we also have started this time," said Behera.

Speaking about future plans to strengthen cricket from the grassroots, Behera further said, "I have plans to organise Intra-School tournament to be played at all the district head quarters and 50 talents will be selected from the camp who will be brought to Cuttack and imparted training in professional Cricket."

(Edited By Suryakant Jena)