• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Power consumers in the State will now have to pay more as the Odisha Electricity Regulatory Commission (OERC) has hiked the power tariff by 20 paise per unit.

The new tariff will come to effect in the State from October 1, 2020.

However, the revised rates will not be applicable for Kutir Jyoti consumers and also the farmers who are living below the poverty line (BPL).

The average cost of supply for DISCOMs has increased from 499.71 paise/unit in 2019-20 to 524.62 paise per unit in FY 2020.21.

While approving the average cost of supply as 524.62 paise for the FY 2020-21, the Commission has fixed 270 paise/unit up to 50 units, 450 paise/unit for the consumption above 50 units and up to 200 units, 550 paise/unit for the consumption above 200 units and up to 400 units and 590 paise/unit for the consumption above 400 units for the domestic Category.

However, there will be no change in meter rent, monthly minimum fixed charge (MMFC) and demand charge.

Meanwhile, the average tariff for domestic consumption of 50 units, 100 units, 200 units, 300 units, 400 units and 500 units is Rs 2.70/ kwh, Rs 3.60/kwh, Rs 4.05/kwh, Rs 4.53/kwh, Rs 4.781/kwh and Rs 5.00/kwh respectively, which is around 51.5%, 68.6%, 77.2%, 86.4%, 91.0% and 95.3% of the average cost of supply of 524.62 paise per unit approved by the Commission.

A 2% rebate over and above normal rebate shall be allowed on the bill to the low transmission domestic and single phase general purpose category of consumers only over and above all the rebates who pay through digital means. This rebate will be applicable on the current month bill if paid in full, OERC said.

Besides, 2% rebate shall be allowed to all pre-paid consumers on pre-paid amount.

The rural LT consumers shall get 5 paise per unit rebate in addition to existing prompt payment rebate who draw their power through correct meter and pay the bill in time.

Other Stories