Devbrat Patnaik

Bhubaneswar: The voters of Balasore Sadar and Tirtol have decided the fate of 15 candidates vying to represent the respective Assembly constituencies that went to polls on Tuesday (November 3).

Polling in the Assembly segments was held till 6 pm amidst tight security and strict adherence to the COVID-19 protocols in place. The overall voter turnout for the by-elections stood over 70 per cent. Balasore Sadar recorded 70.69% voter turnout while Tirtol Assembly constituency saw a voter turnout of 69.66%, informed Sushil Kumar Lohani, the Chief Electoral Officer, Odisha.

The postal ballot count in Tirtol and Balasore stood at 3193 and 1631, respectively. As many as 104 Covid positive patients in Tirtol and 6 infected persons in Balasore also exercised their franchise.

Except in two or three places, no violence or law and order situation was reported in the constituencies. After the end of polling, the polling officials collected the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPATs) from all the booths and deposited them at the strong room.

Odisha DGP Abhay informed that by-poll to the Balasore Sadar and Tirtol assembly constituency was peaceful. "I thank the residents of the area for their cooperation. I convey my appreciation for the good work done by deployed police personnel. They were ably led by respective SsP and Range DIG/IG," the DGP said.

As per the notification issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI), counting of the votes will take place on November 10 and the poll process shall be completed by 12th of this month.

Odisha By-polls: Woman Caught While Allegedly Distributing Money