• otv
Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Balasore: With just a week to go for the Balasore Sadar and Tirtol by-elections in Odisha, campaign trails have hit fever pitch in both the assembly constituencies.

Three major political parties, BJP, BJD and Congress are vying with one another to prove their mettle and capture the seats. The leaders of the respective parties, along with their candidates are leaving no stone unturned in reaching out to the masses in order to garner votes.

BJP candidate Manas Dutta is approaching the masses with development as the main agenda of the party. Puri MLA Jayanta Sarangi embarked on campaigning on Sunday to woo the voters for Manas by riding a cycle. Other BJP leaders and supporters also joined with Jayanta in their door-to-door campaigning.

“We are confident of BJP’s victory in the upcoming fight. I could gauge the mood of the people that they are pretty much happy with the performance of the party and our candidate. They will definitely shower their love, affection and blessings on Manas. We are sure that Manas will win with a better margin of votes and even do better work than his late father,” stated Sarangi.

Similarly, Many BJD MLAs and ministers have plunged into the drive through an aggressive door-to-door campaigning for their candidate Swarup Kumar Das.

Congress has also intensified their campaign for their candidate Mamata Kundu.

Meanwhile in Tirtol, more than 40 leaders joined hands with BJP in the constituency assembly on Sunday in presence of party state president Samir Mohanty and former MP Bibhu Prasad Tarai.

“The Union Government has provided a lot of help to the State Government in form of different grants during Covid-19 pandemic. But the State Government has shrieked away from its responsibility during the difficult time and people are pretty much aware of it. They will largely vote for BJP,” Mohanty exuded confidence.

Senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha MP Ranjib Biswal is at the helm of the affairs in the campaigning for the grand old party, which has fielded Himansu Bhusan Mallick as their candidate in this seat.

Ruling BJD has also launched their campaigning aggressively for their candidate Bijay Shankar Das.

(Edited by Suryakant Jena)

Other Stories