• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: The BJD on Monday declared its candidates for the forthcoming by-elections to Balasore Sadar and Tirtol Assembly seats to be held on November 3.

Bijay Sankar Das, son of former BJD MLA Bishnu Das, will contest from Tirtol, while Swarup Kumar Das is chosen as candidate for Balasore Sadar.

Swarup Das after being selected for BJD party candidate from Balasore Sadar constituency said, “I was not in ticket race. It is party's decision and must has been taken through lots of deliberation with senior leaders and local opinion. There is no intraparty feud in Balasore. I would like to thank CM Naveen Pattnaik for imposing faith in me.”

Tirtol BJD candidate Bijay Sankar Das also thanked CM Naveen Pattnaik and said, “There are no in-fights in our party. We will work together to sail through this challenge”

Ahead of others, BJP on Sunday had declared it's party nominees for upcoming by-elections in two Odisha assembly constituencies.

Manas Dutta, son of deceased BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutta will contest from Balasore Sadar while Rajkishore Behera is chosen as candidate for Tirtol.

Congress is yet to announce their candidates. However, Party MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati gave a hint to announce their candidates by today.

The by-polls to both the seats have been necessitated by the demise of sitting BJP MLA Madan Mohan Dutta (Balasore) and sitting BJD legislator Bishnu Das (Tritol).

Also Read | Odisha: BJP Declares Candidates For Balasore, Tirtol By-Elections

Other Stories