We Report, You Decide

Met department issues thunderstorm, lightning warning for 11 Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: The met department today issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 11 districts of the State today.

“Moderate thunderstorm with lightning and light to moderate rainfall are likely to occur at some places over the districts of Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Jajpur, Angul, Cuttack, Khurda, Nayagarh and Puri between 9.30 AM and 12:30 PM,” said a release issued by the Regional Meteorological Centre.

Yesterday, director of the meteorological centre HR Biswas said rainfall accompanied by thunderstorm, lightning and wind gusting up to 30-40 kmph will be experienced in most of the districts.

“As the monsoon winds are inching closer to the State, rainfall activity will be witnessed in the districts of Sundergarh, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Khurda, Puri, Cuttack, Nayagarh, Boudh, Puri, Dhenkanal, Nuapada, Bolangir, Kalahandi, Gajapati and Ganjam,” said Biswas.

Heavy rainfall activity will be witnessed in south and coastal areas from Thursday under the impact of a low pressure, he added.

You might also like

Comments are closed.