Sharmili Mallick

Bhubaneswar: Justice S Muralidhar on Monday took oath as the 32nd Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court. He was administered the oath of office by Governor Professor Ganeshi Lal at Raj Bhawan here.

Justice Dr S Muralidhar was serving as a judge at the Punjab & Haryana High Court before he was elevated as Chief Justice of Orissa High Court on December 31 last year.

The oath taking ceremony of Justice S Muralidhar was held at Raj Bhavan in Bhubaneswar today morning. Law Minister Pratap Jena, leader of opposition, Chief Secretary, police DG, among others were present on the occasion.

Earlier, President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, in exercise of the power conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, appointed Muralidhar and three other judges- Him Kohli, Sanjib Banerjee and Pankaj Mithal as the Chief Justices of Orissa, Telangana, Madras, and J&K and Ladakh, respectively.

Dr. Justice S Muralidhar, B.Sc., LL.M., Ph.D., was born on August 08, 1961. He enrolled as an Advocate on September 12, 1984 and practiced in Civil Courts in Chennai and served in Delhi High Court and Supreme Court of India in Civil, Criminal, Constitutional, Labour, Election, Arbitration, Public Interest Litigation, Human Rights, Company, Taxation and Service matters.

His fields of specialization are Constitutional, Election, PIL, Criminal and Human Rights Cases. He has also worked as Counsel for Election Commission of India, National Human Rights Commission, Central Vigilance Commission and University Grants Commission (UGC) and as Member of Supreme Court Legal Services Committee between 2000 and 2004.

Justice S Muralidhar was also appointed as an Additional Judge of Delhi High Court on May 29, 2006 and as Permanent Judge on August 29, 2007.

Later, he was transferred to Punjab and Haryana High Court on March 6, 2020.