Bengaluru: In a bid to attract youths towards space research, the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) has decided to set up four incubation centres in different parts of the country including one in Rourkela of Odisha.

In a press conference, ISRO Chief K Sivan on Friday said that the space agency would set up the incubation centres in Trichy, Nagpur, Rourkela, and Indore. Besides, it will develop the incubation centre in Tripura, NIT.
ISRO would also launch a one month 'Young Scientists programme under which three students from each state will be selected for training.

"At these the incubation centres, students will carry out research and development activities. ISRO will give them problems on basis of which they can make prototype model and ISRO will buy them," said Sivan.

Few days back, the ISRO approved establishment of an incubation centre for space rocketry research at the VSSUT after expressing satisfaction on the project to successfully build and test fire the VSSUT Satellite launch vehicle (VSLV) rocket. The ISRO will provide Rs 50 lakh for the incubation centre, said sources.

OTV News is now on Whatsapp

Join and get latest news update delivered to you via whatsapp

Join Now