Bhubaneswar: Taking stern action against mining lease violators, the Odisha government today cancelled licenses of six mining leaseholders.

The licenses of Arjun Lodha, Mineral Trading, H.G.Pandya & Others, BD Patnaik, Bhanj Mineral and M.R. Das Mines were cancelled after they failed to pay the stipulated penalty imposed by the government for illegal mining.

It is pertinent to mention that on the basis of the Shah Commission report, the State government had issued notices to the companies to pay 100% price of the minerals extracted illegally. However, the leaseholders ignored the notice and failed to pay the fines following which the government has cancelled their licenses.

In August 2017, the Supreme Court had directed the government to collect the fines from the mining leaseholders involved in illegal mining within December 31, 2017. Following this, the state government had issued notices to 131 mining leaseholders. After the December 31, 2017 deadline, the apex court had directed the State government to collect penalties with 12 per cent interest from the defaulters.