• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Saswat Singhdeo

Kendrapara: BJP's Lok Sabha candidate, Baijayant Jay Panda, today filed his nomination from Kendrapara constituency in a huge rally amid presence of thousands of supporters. Soon after filing his nomination, the BJP leader lashed out at his opponents and said "Those members who were hurling eggs and stones at me after not receiving pc, can they even talk about development?"

"I will work towards the development of Kendrapara and Odisha. I urge everyone to work towards making Narendra Modi prime minister once again," added Panda.

Earlier in the day, Panda sought blessings at Baladevjew Temple in Kendrapara ahead of filing his nomination.

Apart from Panda, several other heavyweights filed nominations for the upcoming polls today. BJP's Balikuda-Erasama Assembly candidate Damodar Rout took out a procession and filed his nomination papers at Jagatsinghpur sub-collector's office. Similarly, Congress Lok Sabha candidate from Kendrapara constituency Dharanidhara Nayak submitted his nomination.

“People will decide who is the real hero in the upcoming elections. Undoubtedly son of this soil is the real hero,” said Dharanidhara Nayak, Congress candidate, Kendrapara LS.

Congress candidate from Jagatsinghpur assembly seat Chiranjib Biswal and Lok Sabha candidate Pratima Mallick also filed their nominations.

BJD candidate from Aul assembly seat Pratap Deb, Congress candidate from Rajnagar assembly constituency Anshuman Mohanty, BJP candidate from Patkura Assembly seat Bijoy Mohapatra, BJP candidate from Mahakalapada seat Bijaya Pradhan and Sunakara Behera from Kendrapara and BJD candidate from Barchanaseat Amar Prasad Satpathy filed their papers.

“Earlier the State was misusing its government functionaries. However, this election 2019 will be different,” said Bijoy Mohapatra.

“I will expedite the development of Barchana. Definitely the promises will be kept, if I am voted to power," said Amar Prasad Satpathy.

OPCC chief Niranjan Patnaik, who is contesting from two seats this election, today filed his nomination from Bhandaripokhari Assembly constituency. Earlier, he had filed nominations from Ghasipura Assembly seat after he was challenged by BJD leader Badri Narayan Patra to contest from the constituency. "Looking at the support of people here, I am more encouraged to work for the people," Patnaik added.

BJP candidate from Basta Assembly seat Raghunath Mohanty, who filed nomination today, said, “People of the State want a change and this is the reason why they have gathered here in so large numbers.”

BJP candidate from Balasore Lok Sabha seat, Pratap Sarangi also filed his nomination. He said, "The corrupt BJD government will taste defeat this time as people want overall development while unemployed youths want employment opportunities in Odisha."

Other Stories