We Report, You Decide

Former Union Minister and 8-Time Bhadrak MP Arjun Sethi Passes Away


Bhubaneswar: Former Union Minister and an eight time MP from Bhadrak, Arjun Charan Sethi passed away in a private hospital in Bhubaneswar on Monday. He was 79.

Arjun Sethi played a crucial role in all round development of Bhadrak and was deeply involved in active politics. He was a minister in the Atal Behari Vajpayee government.

Ahead of the simultaneous elections in 2019, Arjun Sethi had quit BJD and joined BJP along with his son Abhimanyu Sethi.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik expressed grief over the demise of Arjun Sethi. In his condolence message, Patnaik decribed Late Arjun Sethi as a veteran Parliamentarian and an able administrator.

“During his long stint as an MP and an MLA late Arjun Sethi had earned the goodwill of the people for his dedicated service and commitment. Odisha has lost a political leader, of high stature,” Patnaik said.

Apart from Patnaik, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, BJP National Vice-president Baijayant Panda and other leaders of different political parties also expressed grief and conveyed deep sympathies to the  bereaved family.

Arjun Sethi was first elected to Lok Sabha as MP in 1971 and was re-elected to the 7th Lok Sabha (2nd term) in 1980, 10th Lok Sabha (3rd term) in 1991,  12th Lok Sabha (4th term) in 1998, 13th Lok Sabha (5th term) in 1999, 14th Lok Sabha (6th term) in 2004, 15th Lok Sabha (7th term) in  2009 and 16th Lok Sabha (8th term) in 2014.

He was a member of Odisha Legislative Assembly twice –from 1990-91 and from 1995-98 (second term).

Prior to his joining in BJP, Arjun Sethi had held several key posts in the BJD and was the leader of Parliamentary party (1999-2000) and held the post of Bhadrak district president (2005 onwards).

Also Read: Utkal University Releases 6th Semester Examination Dates

You might also like

Comments are closed.

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)