Bhubaneswar: Hours after handing over the charge of Odisha director general of police (DGP) to his batchmate B K Sharma in Cuttack, IPS officer R P Sharma on Thursday joined Lokayukta as its non-judicial member.

Sharma, who was also the director of the vigilance wing of Odisha Police, said he would continue his fight against corruption in his new role.

"I have joined Lokayukta as its member. I am thankful to Lord Jagannath for providing me with an opportunity to work for the society. I will put my experience to use to help rid the society from the malaise of corruption," the 1986-batch IPS officer, who opted for voluntary retirement from government service, said.

Sharma's name as a member of the anti-corruption organisation was proposed by the state government and approved by Odisha Governor Ganeshi Lal.

The five-member constitutional body, headed by former Chief Justice of Guwahati High Court Ajit Singh, started functioning in Odisha on April 8, 2019. Justice (retd) BK Nayak and former IFS officer Debabrata Swain are two other members of the organization.

As per the Lokayukta Act, the fifth member of the anti-corruption body has be a woman or a member from the Scheduled Category or a minority community.