• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Bhubaneswar: After four years and five months of the passage of the Lokayukta Bill in the State Assembly, the selection committee under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today finalized the name of the fifth member of the panel. The name will be recommended to the Odisha Governor for approval.

Leader of Opposition, Narasingha Mishra informed mediapersons that an eminent jurist has been unanimously selected as the fifth member of the selection committee.

“The name will be sent to the Governor’s office and after a notification is issued, the selection committee will be complete,” he added.

Other members of the selection committee are the CM, Assembly Speaker, the Leader of Opposition and the Orissa High Court Chief Justice.

The selection committee will choose a five-member search committee which will in turn recommend the name of the Lokayukta and its members.

On July 10, the Supreme Court had directed the State government to form the Lokayukta in three months and had set the deadline of October 10.

Sources said the state government is likely to seek more time from the apex court to constitute the Lokayukta.

Other Stories