Rojalin Mishra

Sundergarh/Sonepur: With polls around the corner, political scenario in the state is heating up as major political parties are intensifying their campaigning across western Odisha.

Union Minister and senior BJP leader Jual Oram who is contesting from Sundergarh Lok Sabha seat has begun his campaigning along with other party leaders. The minister along with his supporters, party workers, polling booth observers has set the strategies and begun the campaigning. Holding meetings at villages, popularising the name of PM Modi and his developmental works, the minister has urged the people to cast their votes for BJP.

“The state government did not implement the Ayushman Bharat Yojana and the people in the state are deprived of availing free health treatment up to Rs 5 lakh. The state has failed to curb corruption and provide security to women. People in the district are happy with the developmental works done by BJP," said Oram.

Similarly, Congress leader George Tirkey who is also contesting from Sundergarh Lok Sabha constituency has begun his campaigning in the district. Targeting the failure of central and state governments, Tirkey has boosted his campaigning agenda to woo the voters.

“The state government is trying to fool the people with its various schemes such as Peetha, KALIA. The central government had failed in fulfilling its promises too. Unemployment still prevails in the country,” said Tirkey.
The saffron party has intensified its campaigning in Western Odisha as well. Bolangir MP candidate Sangeeta Singh Deo along with thousands of party workers has kicked off the campaigning for Birmaharajpur constituency at Babupali village under Binka block in Sonepur district.

Addressing a meeting at Babupali village, Sangeeta targeted the ruling BJD government and said despite being in power for the last 19 years, BJD has failed to develop Odisha.

“Our focus is on the development of the country, state and the district. We will also concentrate on various local issues that create obstacle in the development process,” said Sangeeta Singh Deo.

BJP has carried out campaigns in Kamira, Arigaon, Bankigidhi, Sindurpur, Bisalpali villages in Sonepur. Among others, district BJP President Bijay Mahakur, General Secretary Mahendra Mahanand, Zilla Parishad Chairman Usha Kumari were also present during the campaign.