• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

Bhubaneswar: In the run up to the crucial 2019 elections, politics is now getting heated up in Odisha. Moreover, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Saturday filed a petition before Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat seeking disqualification of five legislators on the grounds of anti-defection law.

The petition has been filed against Trinath Gomango (Gunupur), Debaraj Mohanty (Aska), Purna Ch Nayak (Daspalla), Basanti Mallik (Mohana) & Sukanta Nayak (Nilagiri) on the ground of anti-defection law.

BJD chief whip Amar Prasad Satpathy yesterday met Amat and pressed for the disqualification of the five MLAs who recently resigned from the party after denial of tickets.

"The leaders were elected to Odisha Legislative Assembly on BJD party symbol and we have moved a petition seeking disqualification of their membership," said Satpathy.

Odisha Assembly Speaker on the other hand stated that, "Appropriate action will be taken after a detailed review."

Meanwhile, BJP vice-president Pitambar Acharya trained his guns on Odisha Assembly speaker and stated, "The Speaker's post is a constitutional post. At a time when polls dates have been announced, the way Speaker briefed media is totally uncalled for."

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.